HAWK engine management (need help please)

CMF_Noddie

» CMF Member
Hello,
I'm from the UK and (guess it could be Frank2 on here, as he is called frank on the MSC) recommended i ask on here.
i have just baught a Hawk stand alone ecu, loom and softwear.
im a novice when it come to stand alones and mapping. does anyone on here use the hawk system? is there any chance somone could help me find a base map for me to work from (as i believe it came from a turbo micra from here so the map is no good for me)
any help atall would be very much apreciated:D
thanks in advance,
Noddie

here is some pics of what i'v just baught.

Attachments

• 41391.jpg
    41391.jpg
    28.4 KB · Views: 36

CMF_deNs

» CMF Member
I believe it was reverb that was running the Hawk ECU. I have no idea how common Hawk ECUs are over in the UK but I'm pretty sure this was one of the few if not the only micra using this ECU.

I'd suggest if you're going to go with aftermarket ECUs that you find a tuner over there and find out what he/she suggests to use as ultimately you're likely to get a better tune if you use what the tuner is comfortable with.

If you really want to stick with it and see what you can do in regards to getting that unit tuned then just call around and see if anyone's willing to give it a go. The map on it may be enough to get the car started, then you can trailer it to a workshop and get it tuned from there.

If you don't mind me asking, since from the look of that for sale thread on the MSC, if you're just doing an N/A tune why not go for something that's tried and true? If you ask me it's just more hassle buying an obscure ECU no one else has used and risk running into issues of being unable to find a tuner that'll touch it.

---dens

CMF_Noddie

» CMF Member
oh, i was hopeing it would be more popular over your way.