Engine Problems

Hi
Having a problem with my Nissan Micra Vibe (51 Plate). I topped up the radiator with coolant (as id not done it for a while) - about 50/50 water to coolant. I took the car out for a 10 min drive and when i came back i heard some spurting and it sounded like the engine fan was going (more so than normal). The engine itself felt very warm to the touch (is that normal for a short drive!?)

I may have some technical terms above wrong as i'm not that knowledgeable!

Prior mail for reference:
http://www.micra.org.uk/threads/39658-Nissan-Micra-Engine-bay-picture

The other minor problem i have is that after filling the washer reservoir it appeared to mostly leak out - whilst i was stood there - yet you look in the reservoir and you can see a certain amount of fluid in the bottom. Might this mean there is a hole in the reservoir, but half way up!!!??

Advice very much appreciated.

Thanks

Il have a go but im no expert.
Is it loosing water - have you had to top up the coolant?
If you take off the oil filler cap does it look like mayonase in there (head gasket gone?)
If you are not loosing water it could be the water pump gone, or the drive belt snapped.

Im sure some of our more knowledgeable members will be along shortly.
Good luck.

thanks.
i topped up the coolant simply because id not done so for a while - i wasnt having problems prior to that!
last year the drive belt had snapped and it was over heating, so i dont think it is that again (steering is OK).

There should be a plastic screw on one of those start the engine and remove the screw until water comes out of the hole then replace the cap :)

on one of....? what? lol - the heater pipe?
so i drain the water/coolant and then refill it......?!? (why would that be as its full now and not working)