wheel boss / horn problem /

seanington

Ex. Club Member
I've installed a custom steering wheel and wheel boss but the problem im having is now the horn is continuosly on. Im no electrical expert but i had i go at it and cant see what i've done wrong

would appreciate some advice on how to wire it up properly because i want to get the car MOT'd asap before i do more mods

ive got some pics of how ive done it so far

P170409_1716.jpg

P170409_171601.jpg

P170409_171602.jpg

what ive done is got some wire, and soldered it to one of the terminals on the horn , and fed it round the back and attached it to the green and white wire which the haynes manaul says is for the horn using a scotch lock.

i then connected the single spade from the wheel boss to the other terminal on the horn. but every time i connect it , the horn goes off! :(

when i did this i didnt have to solder anything, just connected the 2 spade terminals up, i found the horn came on constantly, swapped the 2 wires around and hey presto ;)

did you have to splice into the green and white wire ? (my micra is 98 facelift and comes with airbag)

and i had to solder because only one spade connection was on the wheel boss, the other wire comming from green/white was spliced into and soldered to the other terminal so its possible i might have done it the wrong way round ?

and also do i have to cut the green white /wire so it doesnt go into the block and only goes to the terminal ?

ok ive tired swapping the terminals round and that didnt work , its still on constantly. I've also tried cutting the green wire underneath where ive spliced into it and that just stops the horn working all together :/

if you look at the plug there should be a sliver piece of mettle on there which are connected with two cables one is positive for the horn the other one is a earth if you have msn i can talk you through it