Rust repair

daveeeeee

Ex. Club Member
im sarting to clean my micra up and there's some rust damage round the wheel arches etc, now i have a good idea on how to do it but as i'm a complete beginer i just want to be sure, so if anyone could just give me a run down on how to do it and what sand paper to use body filler etc or if there's any good websites you know of that could help. it would be greatly appreiciated. :)

I guess it depends on how much body is actually missing... Body filler is usually good for small holes or dents, but if a whole chunk is missing (which was my case) I had to completely reconstruct it with fibre-glass.. after that you can smooth it out with body filler if you wish... I'm no professional, but I'd say that's a good start!

its not bad, theres no rust that has actualy rusted all the way through the bodywork, so i think only some body filler will be needed. is it just a case of sanding all the rust away, using body filler to replace the badywork and spraying?

Make sure you sand or grind the place so that there isn't a SPECK of rust.. If there is still rust there, it will multiply underneath your hard work and in 6 months you'll be like "what happened to the car?!" Otherwise, make sure your body filler is smooth and even with the rest of your car then you're good to go with painting whatever way you want! I'm guilty of laying too much body filler and now it's cracked :( I had a hole the size of jesus in my door and I just pumped it full of goo lol... So once it stops raining here I'm just going to rip off the door take a hammer to the body filler, and lay some fibreglass.. If there's too much area to cover with just f.g. then I'll do what Alien said and weld some more tin in there..

well i've been thinking of just getting the whole car resprayed, how much do you think this will cost, same colour exterior only? what if i repair the rust damage first will it then be cheaper to get it sprayed?