Port and Polish

TredderK11

Ex. Club Member
I have heard mixed reviews about the performance that can be gained for this I know a couple of guys who have done it to there cars eg Corsa (not really a car I know). Is there much of a benifit from this? How much is it likely to cost? and finally where would be the best place to get this done as I'm no that mechanically minded. sorry about all the questions.:blush:

tredder

i think the gains would be very small on a modern cad designed engine, (unless you were building an na screamer).
matt,s exchange ones would be the one to go for tho, i daresay :)

tredder

the old pre-crossflow type engines were quite compromised, but modern engines are computer flow designed surely ?.
i ported and polished mine, but could,nt tell any difference tbh, i think the valve sizes are the bottleneck on the cg, and decent cams (to open/close them faster/longer) are the way to go imo

Cheers mate been looking at matts website and I'm looking at a gasflowed head with cams shims etc which is not rediculousl expensive lol

Cheers mate been looking at matts website and I'm looking at a gasflowed head with cams shims etc which is not rediculousl expensive lol

get the gasflowed head + rally cams , also matt has a inlet manifold for throttle bodies too... costly but worth it, think its £700 for head and cams inc shims, 200 for inlet manifold. 1k for jenvy throttle bodies or you can get cheaper ones at your choice. Engine management of your choice 300 - 1k ish?? plus mapping ££??
free flowing exhaust of your choice ££?? = proper N/A Screemer

Broony you got it in one as soon as Frank mentioned website I was on it and you've picked up on the project lol just got to save a little first.

Port + polish is a horrid way to describe head work. For true gains you need to do bench flow development. I'm not even going to go into it, but true power gains will be seen if this is done right - it however is NOT cheap.