Bigger wheels, good idea?

Hi Folks,
Noob here,
just scored a nice little 95 Micra 1 L Auto..would i be right in thinking there is 13"ers on this? The tyres are pretty scabby but i've got a chance of getting some good tyres cheap, thing is they are attached to 03 micra 15" wheels...would these be a straight swap? more important would it be a good idea..my initial thoughts are it would screw with the speedo and maybe mess up aceleration.
Any thoughts or experience of the same would be great.
cheers,
salty

i wouldnt have thought it woud make a massive difference to the speedo! maybe 1 or 2 mph if that! loads of people have put bigger wheels on there k11 on here so cant be that bad of an idea

@ Kenzie..on that fitment site..on the tyre width field do you physically measure the width or is it written on the tyre.....also do you think the 15" will be a straight swop or will they rub the arches?

I think 15" would make the speedo run at the 'true' speed.

With 13" my speedo over-reads by 10% e.g 80mph on the motorway shows 72mph on the satnav.

@ Salty

whats on tyre. also you gonna need to know how wide the wheels are.
tyre-size.jpg

well i went from the 13"steelies to 15 by 7 alloys with a massive offset... the tyres are 195/50 R15 and they fit fine if you look at my blog micra dot rising to the top you will see how they fit with lowering by 50mm however mine do rub when laden and a slight rub on full lock but thats it... the only thing i will say is get better wheel nuts preferably locking ones otherwise the steelie nuts damage the alloys due to different angles etc...

Cheers Will,
these i5"ers i can get are not alloys (mores the pity) they're steelies from an 03 Micra.
whats that a K??
so i dont know the width, dont 'spose anyone owing an 03 will be on this part of the site tho'

def' chk out your blog later when i get time to have a proper read -)

the k12 fsm (manual) says 14" for steelies :eek: ? Road wheel size/offset mm (in) 14 × 5JJ Steel/40 (1.57)