1.0 n 1.2 heads

is there any differnce between heads except the camshaft?

ive put ma gas flowed head from a 1.0 on a 1.2 block with a 1.2 carb will it go any better?

thanks scott

Well according to bob the 1.0 head has a smaller combustion chamber therefore raises the compresion ratio. Tried and tested to give great results!

doesn't the 1.0 head have a helical inlet though (unlike the 1.2) creating a 'whirl pool' air & fuel mix?

...i'm a novice in this area so I cant say what the pros & cons are...but I think this is another difference (from archived posts)...may be somone whith more expertese than me can comment on this

I think Bob has some dyno results of the diferent heads if I remember correctly. I had a 1l and a 1.2l heads on a flow bench a few years ago. I forget the CFM's now but the 1.2 head out flowed both a standard and a ported 1l head. Better flow doesn't necesarily mean more power, but It's a good indication. The 1.2 head has very straight ports which isn't so good but they are a lot larger than the 1l. I would imagine that the way forward would be a 1.2 head but carefully ported to encourage swirl. If you are still running the stock manifolds I would imagine there would be little difference in power between the heads. If I have time in the next few days I'll post up some pics of my garage ###ui processed head, they appear to have worked on the combustion chamber and unshrouding the valves as well as the usual porting.

surely the best of both worlds would be a 1.2 head with 1.0 valves (because i'm assuming they'd be shorter to stop them hitting the pistons) and a 1.2 carb (or better). And maybe port and polish it yourself while its off.

Thats purely a guess, i can't guaruntee any of that would work, i'm not advanced enough yet! :p