What happens when your timing chain breaks?

CMF_micrat

» CMF Member
YES
I have seen this problem on a customers car at a workshop I used to work for. It bent a few valves. It was a very expensive repair. The genuine Nissan timing chain parts (a full set was used including new guides), the head servicing with replacement valves (as required), gaskets, new headbolts (these are required to be replaced- they are single use stretch bolts standard) and labour came to about $3500. This particular customer did not want to buy a second hand engine (it was recommended). My advice if the timing chain is noisy replace it before it breaks, otherwise by a second hand engine.

CMF_Daniel

» CMF Member
ouch, thats a pain.

Thanks for the info.

My timing chain broke two weeks ago. My micra is sitting in my front yard. I bought a 2001 corolla seca because i cant be without a car and dont currently have the time to fix it, I am a fourth year engineering student and am currently writing my thesis.

I was quoted $2500-$3000 to recon my engine. I was also quoted $800 not including parts to fit an engine that i supply, I've been offered one $770 with warranty with less than 100000km it.

If anyone is interested in buying it, ill sell it if a reasonable offer is made. It would suit a turbo or supercharging project as it would be cheap alternative to buying a running car. You could build a motor up over time without any lossed (rego etc.), then just drop it in.

This car has served me well over the 4 years that i have owned it and i would love to see it go to a good home. I will deliver it anywhere in brisbane for about $100 or you could have it towed.