timing chain - worse case scenario info

CMF_jmac

» CMF Member
Hi, I'm a new member - I'm not a micra owner but one of my friends is. I found this site after googling about the timing chain.

The reason being - his car - at around 70,000km actually went worse case scenario - and snapped a timing chain, and then pistons hit and bent a few valves. From reading here, the timing chain/tensioners are a known issue, but not normally at only 70,000km. The one other factor is that his car was not driven for a few months due to being parked at another house, and not being needed, and the damage then happened very soon after starting the car - the same day, after perhaps 10km.

Anyway, the task of fixing the damage is mine (since it's what I used to do for a living). Rather than rebuild the damaged head (which could easily go over $1000 for just the headwork, aside from remove and re-fit, when you have to replace a bunch of valves, re-set clearances and so forth) we've located (after a few that we sourced turned out to be no good) a second hand head that's in ok condition, so will proceed from there.

If you guys think it'd be of any interest, I'll do a write up of what's involved, and a few digital pics to try and make it easier to follow.

There's a couple of initial pics (showing the damaged/bent valves) at

http://jmacperformance.com/Peter's Micra/

EDIT - the above link doesn't quite work - you'll need to cut and paste the whole thing to make it work. if it still doesn't, let me know and I'll change the folder name to make it compatible. /EDIT

as well as pics of the clutch - which will get replaced at the same time since it's low, and the motor was pulled.