Speakers, Subs, Headunits, etc..

meji

Club Member (Trial)
Right I'm a total idiot when it comes to in car sound systems.
I don't have a clue where to start.
I know I need to firstly buy a CD player for my car but I want it to have at least an aux in at the front.
Then I want to be able to power a nice subwoofer and speakers.

I'm not looking for something amazingly expensive because I'm a cheapskate, plus I'm a poor student.

If someone supperrr kind could possibly show me what I'm looking for in detail I'd be mega greatful!

Basically CD player, speakers, sub, amp?? but yeah not too expensive, don't care about too much power just quality, because I don't want to share my music outside of the car lol it's just for me to enjoy in car.

Thanks!
Jack.

i have a nice little JBL setup and it cost me less than £150 including the JVC headunit bought from Halfies and a cheapy mutant sub for free off of a mate (Y)

Price range... Not entirely sure as I could save up.

BUT sed5000 would you mind giving me some more details about this setup?
Like the product names, numbers, etc.
Sounds quite interesting ;)

You can get powerful crap but remember power has a bit in common with quality. Subs like to share what your listening to with the outside world whether you like to or not :) You can get a good sound from headunit, door speakers and 6x9s alone i.e. no seperate amp and sub. If you put 6x9s in yer parcel shelf you'd be suprised how much more bass you can get by insulating your boot also.

Im no expert just my 2p :)

robbs right you dont really need a sub just mine was free so (Y)
as for my set up i have some small JBL 2 way speakers in the front and 2 6x9's on my parcel shelf check my blog for pictures :D as for details
i have a headunit very similar to this:
http://www.caraudiocentre.co.uk/product_m-jvc-kd-g342_p-23106.htm
and speakers:
http://www.jbl.com/car/products/pro...e=ENG&Country=GB&Region=EUROPE&cat=MEL&ser=GT
and rears: