Front Speakers for K11

Hi Guys,

I managed to fit the my new head unit the other day despite the wire colours not matching anything in the Haynes Manual so that was fun :)

Anyway my next challenge is that I want to replace the stock speakers. my 2002 S K11 doesnt seem to have the wiring in place for any rear speakers so I just want to work on the front ones for now. One step at a time :)

I read that (on this forum in fact) that the max install depth is 55mm. So I was thinking a pair of Sony XS-GT1728F would be suitable. According to their manual they have a depth of 45mm.

http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/speakers/full-range/6-5-inch-coax-17cm/sony-xs-gt1728f

Other than maybe drilling some new screw holes, would I need to do anything else to install these? Would they fit?

Any advice would be great as I'm new to this car/car audio business.

Richard

Driver side in the boot, remove the trim, you should see the rear wiper relay, there will be a four wired connector there, this is your rear speaker wires

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Yeah, they are not there, there isn't even any wires for them in the connector block behind the head unit. Just the 2 front speakers.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Agh, fire 4 wires up the driver side and sorted :) I have Mb Quartz 5.1/4 fronts and Mb Quartz 6x9's in the rear, luckily I had the plug :)

Ai, you may need to drill new mounting holes, thats about it. I had more work due to being component speakers with Cross overs and tweeters plus being to small... few metal straps done. You will be fine, I find the standard plastic door grills rattle a bit.

So I found time to install my new speakers this weekend and all went very smoothly. The Sony XS-GT1728F speakers fit perfectly and I didn't even have to drill any new holes.

This was with the trim removed and the speaker had 3 huge screws holding it in.
DSC_0016.JPG