pc probs help needed

M

MTB

:p Hi all, ive not long spoke to my bro there about his pc, he said its totally cut out and wont even come on or power up at all, can anyone help thx all MTB:p.

Being an IT Support Engineer, my rate is currently 50p per word :p

Just kidding ;)...

Sounds like the PSU (Power Supply Unit) may have blown, either that or your motherboard has gone bang...

PSUs cost from about £15-30 to replace (depending on the power rating) and motherboards range from £30-50 and up. However, if the motherboard has blown it's possible its taken other components out with it.

Try this: Turn the PSU on and open up the left hand side of the case, some motherboards have a small LED lit up somewhere when they're getting power, however, if you don't see one, this doesn't mean the PSU is dead.

My advice would be to get a new PSU first as this would be cheaper than shelling out for a motherboard.

Here's a link to a load of them: http://www.microdirect.co.uk/productlister.aspx?GroupID=9

Hope this helps,

James :)

much appreciated m8 ill let my bro know and let you know what the problem was:].

James said:
Being an IT Support Engineer, my rate is currently 50p per word :p

Just kidding ;)...

Sounds like the PSU (Power Supply Unit) may have blown, either that or your motherboard has gone bang...

PSUs cost from about £15-30 to replace (depending on the power rating) and motherboards range from £30-50 and up. However, if the motherboard has blown it's possible its taken other components out with it.

Try this: Turn the PSU on and open up the left hand side of the case, some motherboards have a small LED lit up somewhere when they're getting power, however, if you don't see one, this doesn't mean the PSU is dead.

My advice would be to get a new PSU first as this would be cheaper than shelling out for a motherboard.

Here's a link to a load of them: http://www.microdirect.co.uk/productlister.aspx?GroupID=9

Hope this helps,

James :)