Motorway question

I have an honest question.

I'm a rather new driver, and only recently got took on motorways with someone I know who said he would teach me the basics to get more confident on them, and I believe he did. I was on the motorways for around an hour in total. We just kept going around and exiting at different exits etc.

Now, one question, I've been questioned about this, and I'm not sure if I did the right or wrong thing, even though the person I was with concluded it was the right thing.

I had switched to the middle lane to allow cars coming up the entry to get onto the motorway. I speeded up as I was in the middle lane which is the over taking lane.

I now wanted to switch lanes again, because my exit was 2 ahead, and a BMW was in the left lane (the no undertaking lane) directly beside me.

Now, I thought it'd be right, and so did my instructor, that I should speed up and attempt to overtake the BMW, get some space, and then switch back to the left.

However, as I was speeding up to get to speed to over take, the BMW started to rival my speed, and as I increased speed, so did he. He was adamant not to let me pass. The guy I was with said that he was looking at me all the time, as if it was some kind of game.

This started to worry me, as I knew if I slowed down, I'd be endangering people behind me in the fast lane, and so my only choice was to speed up even more.

I still wasn't doing 70mph. We seemed to have approached a bit of a hill, but I slowly but surely managed it, and finally, the BMW slowed down and let me over take, which I believed to be right.

After I had gotten plenty of space in between us, I signaled, and switched back to the left lane and then exited minutes later.

Was I in the right to over take him, even though he was really not wanting to let me and it took a lot of this "game" of his to do so?