Me again

CMF_Glenj

» CMF Member
Hi all

After reading through some of the different post relating to my job at hand, i have seen that if i change my head gasket and skim the head (if i can due to the racing regulations i face) that the cams will need to be advanced.

Is this correct?
If so how is that done, will a timing tool be needed?

Thanks

Pic of car...

Attachments

• 81980.jpg
    81980.jpg
    67 KB · Views: 25

CMF_Glenj

» CMF Member
Cheers Frank

I will be honest, that is a little above my head at mo,(total newbie to this car only built the car a few months back) not to sure what dowels you talking about at mo, will have a closer look later/tomorrow, also would if be possible to put up the rules of the motorsport iam involved in to see if you can possibly see if there is any other ways i can get more out of it.

Thanks again
Glen

sorry in advance for the more questions to follow.......

CMF_Glenj

» CMF Member
Hi and thanks again

Ok can see which dowels you mean now, not to sure i will need to do that with the minimal amount i can probably skim the head to the rules (will ask more on this im sure).

Think i have problems before i get to that stage anyways :(

After taking the head off to unvail the nasty HG underneath i noticed the crank pulley has moved (see pic) now also doest seem to be TDC, any help much appreciated

Thanks
Glen

Attachments

• 82002.jpg
    82002.jpg
    20.9 KB · Views: 33

CMF_Glenj

» CMF Member
yeah that where i set it bud, you can see the dab of paint where it should be, was only after took head off noticed it had moved some how, not to sure how this could be done thought you would need a bit of force to move it, wouldnt of done it cos of the top sprockets would it (while lifting head off)

Am i screwed....

thanks

pic of timing marks i set...

Attachments

• 82005.jpg
    82005.jpg
    15.8 KB · Views: 22

CMF_frank2

» CMF Member