Engine cutting out every 6 months or so K11 2001

Hi, I'm a Newbie. This car has 2 issues.

Issue 1) About every 6 months, it it sailing along nicely for at least 1/2 an hour, then the engine cuts out suddenly and completely and will not restart. The last time it happened I changed the Temperature Sensor for one with the correct value and thought I'd cured it - wrong!!! The thing that confuses me is that such a 'catastrophic event' brings up no fault codes. Does this suggest the issue is with the ECU - if the ECU fails then it does not record a fault or Mil? A friend who knows more about Motronics than me, said it could be lots of minor non-Mil events accumulating over about the 6 months which cause the ECU to shut down the motor - could this be what is happening ?

Issue 2) It sometimes will not start unless I squirt petrol on the air filter and replace the cover. After that its fine.

Any advice gratefully received.

Hi guys - thanks

I have a spark but no fuel at injectors. Fuel pump is working. Relays and fuses are bright & shiney. Earths cleaned up and remade. What do you mean by starter switch please?

I've taken the multiplug off the ECU and contacts all clean & shiney. With the ECU hanging on the loom do I need to earth the casing?

@tsoob means the back of the ignition switch.
Ok - how do I check the ign switch please?

Would I have a spark if it was ign switch issue?

If I change the ECU, Ign Lock, Transponder and Key on a 2001 car - do I need a Nats Module/Body Control Module/Immobiliser Control Module as well please?

Last edited:
The latter - the engine cuts out suddenly and completely
I would try changing your dizzy first, might be an intermittent fault with that.
A few on here, including myself, have had similar with the just stopping dead thing.
The one causing the trouble is normally 42537N 22100 996b04

Last edited:
I would try changing your dizzy first, might be an intermittent fault with that.