Difficult to engage all gears...clutch not slipping..what could it be?

Hello all from a newbie. I have had my extremely reliable 1.0 micra for 6 years now. It is 1999 1.0 inspiration. However over the past year or so the gears are becoming harder and harder to engage. It is at the point now where Mrs Marky does not want to drive it!! There is no slipping of the clutch in any gear and the car runs fine apart from this. A mechanic mate of mine used to look after this car but I don't see him now. He had told me that a spring had snapped as the gear lever does not spring back to neutral position when moved from side to side. Any ideas if this is a common problem? Is it just the spring or could it be something like the clutch cable needs adjusting? I am a total novice mind with no mechanical knowledge so please go easy :blush::blush: Any ideas of costs etc?? Any thoughts would be great

its worth trying to adjust it first marky, there,s a thumbwheel and 10mm locknut (circled) try tightening the cable a few turns

Attachments

• SDC11728.JPG
    SDC11728.JPG
    124.3 KB · Views: 2,030
Nice one thanks!! Good photo and quick reply!! Will have to wait til tonight as the wife has the car at work. So do I undo the locknut first then tighten the thumbwheel a few turns? Once i undo the locknut the cable isn't going to slacken off or ping away anywhere?? Should I be able to feel the tension in the cable and if so how much should there be?

Nice one thanks!! Good photo and quick reply!! Will have to wait til tonight as the wife has the car at work. So do I undo the locknut first then tighten the thumbwheel a few turns? Once i undo the locknut the cable isn't going to slacken off or ping away anywhere?? Should I be able to feel the tension in the cable and if so how much should there be?