car crash

my car got hit and was sent off to the big yard
everyone is fine

today I picked up a 96 1.0/5speed micra, 275gbp
its has 93k miles on it
the body is super clean besides a dent in the rear hatch lid
it even has a new replacement front engine crossmember on it
the only problem the car has so far is the throw-out bearing is making a ugly sound,
but the clutch drives fine, so I plan to pull the box tomorrow to check it out
and if I can get away with just doing the bearing I will, if not then it will be a full clutch job

I was planning to change the gearbox oil
and do a oil change and fuel filter change

I turn wrenches for a living so its not a big deal to me
I got two days to get the job done and make the car driveable for work on Tuesday

That's taking the rat look to a whole new level. Get some rust on there and it's show-worthy. Glad you walked away from it though, how did it happen?

My wife was driving it, ran a yield light

The new micra has a noisy gearbox, put the new clutch in, and new box oil, the sound coming from the box isn't as loud now
But it still makes sound, but I'm just gonna drive it

drove the micra to work for the 1st time today
the box pops out of 3rd and 5th gear
in a 5 mile trip, it popped out of 3rd gear 3 times, and 5th 2 times

seems like this box has some problems inside of it

time to replace it with a used box

my current k11 had gear noise joakwin when we bought it in 99 (accident damaged) but when i changed the g/box about 8 yrs later it was still the same ??
it was the (fixed) gearchange rod that was touching the body/tunnel (slightly bent), and that rod effects the other gearchange rod too

drove the micra to work for the 1st time today
the box pops out of 3rd and 5th gear
in a 5 mile trip, it popped out of 3rd gear 3 times, and 5th 2 times

seems like this box has some problems inside of it

time to replace it with a used box