1.0 with no heat from fan - not thermostat - help please!

Hi all,

I bought my daughter a K12 1.0 E to learn to drive in last night. I took it on a test drive and noticed that the blue coolant light stayed on and the blowers were not hot. I had a look and the coolant was still original (53 plate, Jan 04), so I negotiated a discount and happily made my way home knowing I would have to drain the system and replace the thermostat, which I did this afternoon. The blue light now goes off after a few minutes (-3 right now where we are), so that went well.Unfortunately, I noticed the fan is still blowing luke warm at best. I had a scan through a number of threads and decided to have a look at the pollen filter, and this car doesn't have one. So, I have left the glovebox strewn across the car and resorted to this!

So, can anyone help please? Could it be the heater matrix? Something else? How can I find out?

I am far from a mechanic, but have done basic maintenance for a while, so nothing too technical please!

Thanks for any help.

the rad should,nt see any flow till the engine is up to temp (ie, when the stat opens) the only coolant flow when cold is around the heater circuit (the 2 smaller pipes that go through the bulkhead and into the cabin)

Hello again Frank.

It's bloody cold here, but I have just been out to the wee car to have a look.

I started the car, popped the bonnet, grabbed some gloves and had a look. I spotted the two hoses at the back of the engine bay and gave them a squeeze. The flow was warm, return cold, but I could feel a little trickle running through the return pipe. I gave the flow a couple of squeezes and it seemed to get a little warmer. So, I did it a few times again and then it just seemed to clear a blockage and the pipe was hot. I checked inside the car and the once luke warm air was now hot! Apparently a blockage in the heater matrix somewhere.

I'm absolutely delighted and want to thank you for your help Frank!