questions about cvt

K

kjharry

I am new to cvt transmissions,though I have done a bit reading about them and understand how they work.My Micra has a noise at crawling traffic speeds,on and off the throttle,which I can only describe as a sort of graunching,possibly the magnetic clutch grabbing an letting go?,or maybe the brushes?
Also do these clutches slip with age?,when pulling away at roundabouts etc,the car doesnt really take off well,the engine is fine,no misses or anything,it just seems a little slow moving off.At motorway speeds the car doesnt hold its speed well either,4000 to 4.5000 revs at 55 to 60 mph depending on the gradient,does that sound right? Any help will be apreciated,thanks guys.

hello,
i have a cvt micra too and i too have this noise on the gearbox but i've had the car about 2 years now and i've had it checked everytime its in the garage (which isnt often thank god). as for not holding speeds and pulling away. there is a bunch of electrical connectors located on the outside of the gearbox underneath the battery which is a service item every 27000miles. try changing this if you havent. i did and it solved my gearbox troubles.
let me know what happens

Hi, thanks for the reply,so what is the bunch of electrical connectors?,what do they do and what is done to them in a service?

Nice to find I'm not the only CVT Micra driver on the planet :grinning: