Noob Question, Sorry guys

CMF_sevendonekysflopping

» CMF Member
Hey guys,
Im new to Micras and the forums. Am buying a micra in the next couple of days.

Here comes the noobie question,
is it hard to turbo or even possible to turbo a 1995 nissan micra slx ?.

Please give me a break haha. All im really familiar on is interior haha.

Thanks guys

CMF_Tyrie

» CMF Member
yes it is possible, but IMO for the effort and cost it isn't worth it. Spend the same money on tyres and handling and you will have a lot more fun driving it.

That is unless you want to make it handle AND turbo it, in which case go nuts, but budget an LSD in there somewhere ;)

CMF_RTK

» CMF Member
7DS, I am in the process of doing a turbo conversion, and so far it has cause me $150, but will blow out to about $2k very quick, but like Ty said do handling mods and budget for an LSD if you choose to turbo

CMF_RTK

» CMF Member
kovert.k11 WROTE:

"RTK WROTE:

"but will blow out to about $2k very quick"

Kovert its all DIY, that isnt machining though, $2000 was including that, I have already dealt with handling

erm, a good computer is more then 2k, just to buy, let alone if you have to pay someone to wire it in and then dyno time aswell. i do everything myself, i've never added up what i spent on my original turbo cg that kovert now has, but i'd say it'd be close to 10k and then some, and the motor was untouched. guess there's 2 ways of doing stuff. cheap and cheerful. or buckets of power and reliability. probably why 3 years later the STOCK engine in koverts car is pumping out almost 160kw from around 16pound, when everyone else seems to be popping headgaskets and ringlands at 10psi trying to crack the 100kw barrier.

CMF_RTK

» CMF Member
I am not waiting stupid power, just 4-5pound, and I've been quoted 2200 for aftermarket ECU, wired in, and dyno tune :) but that will be later on

RTK WROTE:

", and I've been quoted 2200 for aftermarket ECU,