noisy cam chain..

K

K11samurai

Hi,

I have had and loved my K11 for six months now, but ever since i bought it the cam chains have been noisy as hell,

I am a mechanic by trade but have never come across this problem before, most customers K11s dont sound anywhere near as bad.

Has anyone encountered and cured this problem before?

I have been told that they have hydraulic tensioners and they can go slack after time. and that a chain is not very nice to do!! and not cheap.

Great forum by the way, keep up the work, will put my car in the 'garage' archive soon after my wheels go on it.

Thanx

There are two tensioners, an upper and a lower one the upper one is not too bad to get to and should quieten it down a bit, but you'd ideally want to be changing both, what mileage is the car?

Same with mine,

still revs hard and high,

Ijust dont want it to go and do any valves or damage the head etc,

cheers for the reasssurance mate.

its done 74000 odd, it does quieten down when its at running temp

What oil are you using?

Mine quietened down when I switched from Halfords 10w40 Semi-Synth to GTX Magnatec 10w40 Full-Synth. :)

i filled it up with what i use at work, im not 100% sure but i think its 5w30 semi, its vauxhall stuff. what do u suggest, its due a change now!

change to castrol magnatec??

Mines on 102000 miles, the camchain is a bit noisy but nothing to worry about just yet, I think the prize for the noisiest K11 camchain in the world would have to go to James though, good god it was loud, all I can say is keep the oil changes regular and always use good quality oil, I either use 10-30 or 10-40 grade.