Newbie here, Help please

Hi Folks,

I'm after some help if possible, never owned a Micra before and at 1L its quite a change from my V6 MG ZS!

I found an electric plug just under the air filter thats out. I plugged it back in to find that the engine had little/no power and just coughed and spluttered.

Can anyone give me an idea of what this plug might be and subsequently why plugging it in is causing more harm than good? I've owned the car for about 6 months now and I'm assuming its never been plugged in, so previous owner probably disconnected for that reason.

The car is an Xreg and over course of last few weeks I've noticed its using more and more petrol than normal, any suggestions as to how to improve this again? Just a general service?

I know each car has its own characteristics and little querks, apologies if some of the above seems daft, but sometimes there's often a simple solution.

Any help would be appreciated thanks

Murray

First of all WELCOME!
Would it be possible for you to get a picture?
And yes a Service would probably help you.
Good luck! (Y)

31069269.jpg

Hard to tell but if that the side of the throttle body, could it be the connector for the MAF sensor?

that is the maf sensor connector. I found it uses a lot of fuel when not in. If it is kangarooing when that is plugged in it means that your maf is more than likely ####ed. I got one off ebay for £30 quid bout 13 months ago and it works well but there have been negative reports of the ebay copies giving up life after a few months. Mine (touch wood) is going well and went through mot fine last week with no problems. i found with the maf unplugged my mpg dropped to about 15mpg no joke. hope this helps :p

Thats a great help thanks very much, I'll try the local scrappies first and see if I can pick one up there. 2 new tyres and tracking done today, service tomorrow and if I can find the sensor then hopefuly this will cure all ales!

Thanks for your help guys

good show muzzpat