My First Micra

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

propus

Hi Guys,
I'm a newbie here so be gentle. I have just purchased my first Micra. It is a 1990 LS which as far as I can tell has a 988cc carb engine? It has done 15K miles from new and has had only 1 owner before myself.

Generaly looks in near mint condition, but I have noticed a knocking noise under breaking at low speed, say normal breaking from 30mph when coming to a junction. I haven't driven the car hard since I bought it last week and I am concerned there may be something major wrong.

Any ideas on what could be causing the knocking noise?

Is there anything I should have changed/replaced on the car like filters timing belt (or is it chain driven?) etc? I figure it may still need some attention because of its age rather than its miles since they are so low.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Sorry if this post is in the wrong place, I was intending on this being like a small introduction as well as asking a few questions.

John

At that low milage it's probably been stood for long periods at a time, so it wont hurt to give it a full service and cam belt change, the knocking noise could be a sticking caliper, it could get better with use, but if it doesn't then I would suggest stripping them, cleaning them and putting new seals in.
And welcome to the club. :)

propus said:
Hi Guys,
I'm a newbie here so be gentle. I have just purchased my first Micra. It is a 1990 LS which as far as I can tell has a 988cc carb engine? It has done 15K miles from new and has had only 1 owner before myself.

Generaly looks in near mint condition, but I have noticed a knocking noise under breaking at low speed, say normal breaking from 30mph when coming to a junction. I haven't driven the car hard since I bought it last week and I am concerned there may be something major wrong.

Any ideas on what could be causing the knocking noise?