MAFs n stuff

hoopdub

Club Member (Trial)
Ok so looking into remote MAF for future upgrade of TB. Seen how frank does his :D thought i may be able to come up with a different option. I did try to find a maf from another manufacturer that would fit the k11 connection, no luck there, seems all modern mafs have more than the three pins of the k11. also im not realy shure on how they would work anyway, i mean the ga16 maff has the same connection, but it must read values different, thus confusing the cg ecu.

that in mind, i dug out an old CG TB, headbutted the maf out of it to see if i could retro fit it into a hausing of a different inline remote jobbie from something else.

my reasoning is this, using a chopped cgtb means the air would need to be squeezed through the maf as the hole in the cgtb gets smaller as it goes through. Now im no engineer, and not realy knowing if thats a good thing or not i just assume that it would be better if the air flowing through the maf flows through a hole the same diameter as the throttle body? please feel free to correct me if im wrong, after all the outcome can only help people :D

anyway, i dug through a box of mafs, pulled a few out i think may do the job, this is the first one i tried, off a 2002 transit.

its 55mm internal, as close as i could find to an SR20 tb of 60mm for now, the cg maff fits in it, but would need a housing made around it. im still working on it but thought i would share this with others for now for any input :D

20120924_153615_zps9c8dc6f6.jpg

20120924_153627_zps5b9d224c.jpg

:D
the area AROUND the maf is near 60mm tho hoop (and the area around the butterfly 45mm) so i,m assuming the maf scale is the same with or without the butterfly area (ie, the airflow stays at the same rate around the maf, and the airflow only changes through the bigger throttleplate)

P9240108.JPG