K11 - very poor FM/MW/LW reception

Hello all,

This is my first post as a new owner of the wonderful Micra!

I wonder if any of you could possibly help me, the stereo in the micra has poor radio reception. The original radio has been replaced by a Sony Xplod CD/Aux/Bluetooth unit, which as far as I can see (being a complete novice) has been wired up ok. It appears to have a black earth wire, and all other features on the unit working well.

However my radio reception is terrible, living in Ipswich I can easily receive Town and Heart on the radio whilst driving around but thats due to the transmitters being just outside of the town. Trying to listen to the national stations of radio 1 and 2 is a difficult job, as whilst I can tell they are there its just very fuzzy, and drops in and out. I know this shouldn't be the case as my friends old corsa picks all stations up fine.

So if anyone could help answer the following questions I would be extremely grateful.

Could this be a wiring issue? Or is the aerial cable broken somewhere? Is it possible to successfully (and easily) unscrew the metal aerial on the top of the drivers door? and do I need some sort of booster?

Many thanks in advance!

I was actually going to ask the same question. Do you find that when you switch the ignition off but leave it on 1 click it gets tons better?

I haven't tried this, but I do notice having my hand on the aerial and moving it about makes a slight difference, so obviously things are connected. I shall give the ignition test a go.

Ive always assumed it was because the drivers side aeriel sucks...at least mine did until i removed it, now ive just got no radio signal (so not much dfference) :laugh: