I'm a newbie, wanting to lower my K11..

Hi,

I've just bought a 1993 K11 1.0 and the first thing I want to do mod wise is lower it..properly. I'm talking anything between 80 & 120mm. I've done some research recently and I think the best option for me is modified a Corsa B coilovers/K11 lowering springs hybrid, with a panhard rod, but now I don't know where to begin with going about buying the right parts & from whom.

I would really appreciate some advice from more experienced owners, so I can get it all done as cheaply as possible. Also, I'm interested to hear if anyone's got any opinions/advice on alternatives for the set-up I'm thinking of, as I know I'm not experienced (I'm actually a new driver) & there's a chance I'm making the wrong decision altogether.

Thanks in advance :D

Karl has a point
...It may be worth waiting for at least the first years NCD before you start any modifying...otherwise your insurer willl want both your kidneys...not just the one :p

Your insurance company WON'T let you go more than 50mm and they're going to charge you around £300 for the addition of lowered suspension (source: Did it on my 106). Anything more than a 50mm drop they will flat out tell you they won't insure you.

I've been there, I've done it and I wish I'd saved all the money I flunked on red tape to use on my mods for the year after.

HOWEVER on the plus side if you decide to go about 50mm lower you're gonna save a lot more money and hassle. You can get 40mm springs for about £80 and they're a straight swap.

I'll see how things go, because my insurer may be doing a deal that if I were to transfer my provisional insurance over to a Full UK License quote, I'll get a year's no claims, regardless of how long I've been driving.

If that doesn't work out for what ever reason, it's going to be so hard not to mod the car, it looks so dull & plain at the moment..but I suppose if I have to wait I'll have to wait :(

Thanks for your help though guys :)