fuel / boot release not working?

stokie1985

Ex. Club Member
Hi guys/gals. I recently bought a 1995 micra 1.3 lx. Anyways the fuel / boot release doesn't work so I have to use pring it open every time I fuel up which is annoying because when I close it, it sticks out a little. I think the cable has snapped or something but I am no expert on these things so I thought I would ask on here to see if anyone can help me out. Thanks in advance.

Hi guys/gals. I recently bought a 1995 micra 1.3 lx. Anyways the fuel / boot release doesn't work so I have to use pring it open every time I fuel up which is annoying because when I close it, it sticks out a little. I think the cable has snapped or something but I am no expert on these things so I thought I would ask on here to see if anyone can help me out. Thanks in advance.

I would say check the cable but I know from removing one that it's a complete pain, it runs under the carpet along the drivers side, crosses over under the back seats, to the passenger side, goes up into the metal of the boot to get to the petrol filler cap and then goes round inside the metal of the car to the boot latch. Could always try peeling back some of the carpet opposing the filler cap and see if you can get in to take a look/find any damage.

I would say check the cable but I know from removing one that it's a complete pain, it runs under the carpet along the drivers side, crosses over under the back seats, to the passenger side, goes up into the metal of the boot to get to the petrol filler cap and then goes round inside the metal of the car to the boot latch. Could always try peeling back some of the carpet opposing the filler cap and see if you can get in to take a look/find any damage.
Thanks mate, I'll try that and see how I get on.

Id check the cable end at the release handle that's beside the drivers seat...especially as both the fuel and boot doors aren't working. :)

You might get lucky and its just escaped its mount point.