Exhaust without extractors?

CMF_Tuph

» CMF Member
i just checked out a local exhaust place. he quoted me for a 2" sports exhaust with a lukey muffler ($390), with this he said he would make a air intake ($250) and leave in the stock manifold. with this he expected +10-15 HP

i thought this was a bit strange because i went in asking about the 2" exhaust, 4-2-1 extractors and fuel sensor kinking like recommended in "$1500 factory micra Powerup". then i was going to make my own air intake... he sounded concerned about moving the O2 sensor. Also he talked about only changing one thing at a time and if the stock manifold didn't have to be changed then don't change it.

just thought it was strange to not change the extractors- im not a mechanic but i would have assumed that by not changing the extractors you wouldnt get the performance increase out of it... but instead only get the new exhaust sound, which is not what im looking for. Sounded ricey to me- but the shops meant to be reliable...

Thoughts?

CMF_frank2

» CMF Member
tuph

imo, on a stock engine, you would only see gains from a 2" system at high revs, and you would get far more bang for your buck from a wild inlet cam, lightened flywheel and 2nd decat (and still get very low emissions)

frank

CMF_deNs

» CMF Member
Get yourself a set of extractors through nsm, a member on the forums here. He's got hurricane 4-2-1's for $295. From there you can get a 2" system made up from there and you can make yourself the air intake setup.

You can either get an adjustable fuel reg or get someone to kink your return line or whatever to increase fuel pressure, but I found that mine ran fine as it was - just got the AFR's checked on a dyno and it was good.

Edit: That said, as frank mentioned a lightened flywheel does wonders, too.

---dens

CMF_frank2

» CMF Member
EVLGTI

i agree, but for £20 (lathe rental) for a 0 to 60 dropping measure, it,s second to none imo