Engine install after rebuild + lots of questions

wehey

Ex. Club Member
i installed the rebuilt 1.3 today and it seems to be running well apart from an oil leak from the crankshaft pulley seal.

Before the questions, the engine internals are stock apart from a 1mm head skim to raise the compression.

So I got it all warmed up and went for a spin then checked the timing with a strobe. It was at 0 degrees so I went to alter it and the max it would advance to was 10 degrees.

So I set it there and went out for a drive. I noticed it was pinking, so went home and set it to 5 degree which seemed to sort it.

Next I checked the compression and was very suprised

All cylinders the same.

So the questions.
I've never used a strobe before. Do you set the timing with the engine on tickover?
Why couldn't I adjust to 15 degrees? Was this because I have used the strobe incorrectly
The compression seems very high to me. Is this what I would expect from a 1 mm head skim?

the ecu uses spark timing as a last resort to stabilise the idle wehey, so you need to lock it into base idle mode (as described in haynes) or else use a data lead and software (with the strobe)

the ecu uses spark timing as a last resort to stabilise the idle wehey, so you need to lock it into base idle mode (as described in haynes) or else use a data lead and software (with the strobe)
Sorry to sound dumb but what do you mean by "base idle mode"

if the idle screw is set too low, the ecu will advance the timing to stop the engine stalling.
so if you try to set the dizzy timing with a strobe while that is happening the base timing will be incorrect.
so you have to remove the tps and blip the throttle for the ecu to lock into base timing mode (then the ecu will hold the timing at a stable 15 deg btdc for you to set it with the strobe)
another way (my prefered way) is to use the data lead and lappy to see what the ecu is running, then i set the dizzy/strobe to the same setting :)

Ah yeah that makes sense now.