A few questions about My new Micra

B

BlueNeon

OK I have searched and found lots of decent info, nice one guys.

However, there are a few questions that I cant find answers to:

1. The rear engine mount has TOALLY gone! this seems to be a common fault (anyone got a spare i can buy?) anyway the question is this, would this cause problems shifting into 4th gear and reverse? (its a GSX 1.0 with a 5 speed box)

2. I have a 'misfire' it happens only when the car is low down the rev range, somtimes when im pulling away. (i am new to points, thou I havent played with them! I am used to ECU's and Electronic Ignition!) Is it likley to be electrical?

3. Oil light. I have heard that this is a common fault, it flickers on idle, and sometimes stays on a while, is it a knakered sender? is the oil pressure too low? the level is fine, im using Castrol 15/40 high Milage Mineral Oil.

4.Alternator bracket, I have posted in the 'wanted' section, but this is getting serious, i have a snapped bolt so i need desperatly to relace the bracket, has anyone got one?

5. Cambelt. Is there a 'Howto' to change this? I am sure my car is desperate for one (76k...) The haynes is useless

Thanks in advance for the help guys.

Terry

well chap

ive never heard of the rear mount going, i can probably get you one depneding on where you are in the country.

2. id check the plugs leads, dissy cap etc etc, fitting an electronic dissy from a facelft k10 could help i have 2 sitting about £10 each

3. should 10/40w in there chap the sensor is easy to rplace though, it screwed into the back of the block under the inlet manifold

4.yup got one or can get one

5. it can be done DIY but get a mechanic to do it for peace of mind, its the only thing id want a garuntee on ;)

Speedle said:
5. it can be done DIY but get a mechanic to do it for peace of mind, its the only thing id want a garuntee on ;)

yeah, do get someone else to do it they're a tad fiddley!!!

BlueNeon said: