timing chain change ?

CMF_freecookies

» CMF Member
i have recently bought a nissan micra 96 lx.
the odometer reads 199 000 kms.

i have had some people tell me that if it doesnt make any noise, not to bother changing the chain, others have said to change it irrespective.

its my first car, im a student, im only looking at keeping it for another year maybe, just as a run around.

does it NEED to be done ? and is it worth it ? also, roughly how much could it cost ?

thanks in advance for all replies ...

mik

» CMF Member
my vote goes for: not changing it before you hear any noises.
thats the same opinion my nissan dealer had.

but it seems, that the chain "problem" is widely different. some people never changed them, and hadn't problems (even with high kms/miles), then i heard some stories about a chain cracking with the car at 110.000 kms
what i want to say is, that its a mechanical device, so the possibility that the chain breaks without any noises is somewhere around 5% i guess. shure you can change it, to be on the safe side, but else why change something thats fully working without problems/noises? it's not ment to be mainteaned, like a oil filter or something like that. that's my opinion. lets see what others have to say.

the chain-kit itself is about 150€
the price for the maintenance (if you can't do it yourself) is about 600-800€ (here in germany, don't know your prices there)

CMF_frank2

» CMF Member
i agree with mik (and the prices)
my old super s was making a racket at 100k mls, and when i looked, 1 link on the top chain was about to let go (the car had been abused tho lol )

frank

CMF_deNs

» CMF Member
With the cost/labour involved, you're better off getting a jap engine from the wreckers and chucking it in if it lets go. The cost you'd have to put into it to get someone to do the chain for you would probably come close to being the same as a complete swapover of a jap import motor if you just asked a random workshop to do it.