micra S 998cc engines dies

Hello,

I am new to the forum and hopefully someone can help?

We have a 52 plate Micra S. 72000 miles. Recently on 2 occasions the engine has died whilst driving. On both occasions doing approx 40 mph with no sign of trouble and then it died. We had to wait 5 mins then it started again.

It recently had a full service new filters (inc petrol) plugs etc. I took it to a garage today who could not find the problem and advised take it to a main dealer as it may be the injectors.

Sounds really expensive........ I'm a keen amateur mechanic but hopeless at diagnostics.

Is this a common fault ? Can anyone shed any light? The car runs perfectly otherwise.

Dave

highly unlikely that all 4 injectors intermittently fail together eh dave, have you tested for any faultcodes ?

my partner tells me a similar thing happened when she was driving it but it did not fully cut out. there was no power.. coughed and spluttered and eventually picked up again.
Dave

I had the car at another garage today. Sensors seem OK but showing low fuel pressure and they are not sure why?
I am picking it up tomorrow and he will write down his findings then I will post on here.
Thanks for your replies so far.
Dave

OK, took the car to a garage yesterday.... nice guy ,used him quite a long time reputable etc. They are puzzled and unable to advise of the exact problem and have been unable to fix it.

We seemed to have narrowed the problem down though.
He feels it is definitely a fuel starvation problem. When you "floor" the accelerator pedal it lacks power/ revs.

They have used a system called "Terra- Clean" to clean the fuel system.
They by passed the fuel filter and filter seems good.
Fuel pump seems OK.
Fuel pressure regulator seems OK.

The FAULT CODE P0171 came up with a long list of things it may be including O2 sensor, air leaks etc.