lowering & handling

CMF_bethpegs

» CMF Member
Ok so I'm looking to lower my 95 micra lx (with 13" rims).
I got a quote for Kings springs for $510 (fitted + wheel alignment). Is that a decent price for King Springs? I don't know, but I was hoping to get something a bit cheaper.

Bridgestone quoted me $350 for Pedders springs.

also strut braces and the like. SA suspension could supply and fit a strut brace to the front of the car for around $285.00.

i'm a novice in car gear- trying to learn though. Any suggestions for lowering and better handling- with prices at a minimum? what am i looking for? i just want a tighter and smoother ride.

any help would be grand!

cheers,

beth

Attachments

• 27905.jpg
    27905.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 38

CMF_ed.

» CMF Member
Damn $150 for 4 kings springs drive in, drive out is pretty good!

Not sure if you can beat that price unless you install it yourself.

CMF_jay85

» CMF Member
hey ed read that again it sais $510

thats a bit $$$
here is a little inside secret... trade price on king springs is $110 for the front and the same for the back.... wheel allignment is about $30 so do the math and they are charging thru the arse to fit...

and remember kings are prone to to sag a little bit... nothing to worry about they just do it.... about another 10mm more... every set i have had has done this

CMF_mipcar

» CMF Member
The Kings I have fitted seem to be okay. Still no drama's with them. If they have sagged they have done it evenly. They've been on for a lot of yrs and miles now.
I've got a strut brace cannot say if it made a difference as it was fitted at the same time as the stabilisor bars.
I'd do the bars first before a strut brace.

Mike

CMF_JKL

» CMF Member
You kings would cost the fitter around $150 a set. $50 for your W/A and about $200 left in labour and his markup on parts.
Not too bad but you could prob do a bit better!