Help

Ok removed bump strips....simple as, right? WRONG!

One side was removed fine with all the glue removed with it...BUT..
the otherside had tonnes of glue left so i decided to go the local body repair garage for a "caramel wheel" and they suggested that they do it for a small fee incase i damage the paint work cause of using an abrasive....

(i think you can see where this is going)

Left the micra with them for a day.....collected it in a painful 5 hours time...

check for the glue.. and it was gone! ...... and so was a strip of paint where the glue was!

Being a complete novice on car painting or any kind of painting i was wondering if there was any special steps in repairing this missing strip of paint...
(will try n get pictures up later)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The glue removal cost a bomb....well..for just removing glue anyway.

So i dont want to even imagine what it would cost for a respray of the the door panels. :S

no i mean if they messed up the paint when they said "we'll do it so u dont mess it up" then they should spray it for free!

Yeah thats what i thought aswell but they gave me back the keys to my car as if there wasnt a problem.
Arrived at the car, saw the paint and i went back to them to ask about the damage and they talked as if they didnt know what i was talking about, came outside to take a look and said they would need to respray the door panels at a price.

So i thought #### that, ill try and come up with a way of doing it myself.

ng

maybe the bump strip was masked up and the panel sprayed on a previous repair ?.
so the garage will deny responsibility :glance:

Well iv totally lost all faith in that garage.

Is there anything i need to do before/when/after painting because im hearing primer and lacquer everywhere.

ng

the prepping would take about 1hr, but it,ll take about 1 day for each coat to dry in this weather :glance: