Go Karting Event... any advice?

Ceirwan

Ex. Club Member
Hi guys, wondering if you could give me any tips!
My uncle decided for a late 21st present (he fogot my birthday) he's going to enter me into a Karting event that he's doing, its the Buckmore Park "Man of Steel" 1 hour endurance event!
http://www.buckmore.co.uk/content.php/22120?eve_ref=4851

The idea being great fun and improving my driving which i agree with, but i feel a bit in at the deep end, having never driven a kart OR a rwd vehicle before, and these bloody things do 80mph!
While i'm pretty sure i won't kill myself, does anyone have a list of things i should keep in mind? I would have preferred to start with a somewhat smaller event, but its already been booked! :wow:

Cheers

i used to be a mechanic on go karts, (a girl aged 17!) it was brilliant fun, you will be tenative to start with though its easy, it has 2 pedals, accelerator on right and brake on left, dont press both at same time, if you go hard and wide into corners and at last sec brake sharply then back on acc. and tweek steering wheel which way you want to turn you will steer round corner and your back end will skid around with you and you will keep most of your speed, and when you get there take a few mins to look for the 'racing line' it will be aparant and thats the best route to follow.

you will have a ace time, im somewhat jealous!! havnt been karting for 6 years since my place closed down :(

good luck, your there to have fun, be carefull when you get back in your Micra though, she/he can do 90 plus the police wouldnt like it though and dont think they would be too happy at your excuse!!

ceirwan

thunderkarts will only do 80 with a very high gear ratio, those are probably geared for 50ish, which will feel like 80 tho !.
most people tense up on their first time out and are shattered within 5 mins, so good luck, and take no prisoners