Back From Winton. First PB set.

CMF_flameboy

» CMF Member
Winton Trackday by Tampered Motorsports - 6 / 11 / 2007
first PB set on the Micra: 1:54.4650

thx to charlie Kang for the pics:
n6837127344435427794xf9.jpg

many ppl asked why i didnt bring the 350z, and why would i bother wasting my time with micra... well my answer is:

1. i would bring and drive any car to the track anyway...
2. at this stage i'm not going any faster with the 350z after 4 attempts resulting in 1:41s. i promised myself to try a different change then back to the zed again. sometime you didnt realised that you have overlooked few simple things just because you have been taking it for granted...

well this is my first time in the micra. spec on the day was DIY PVC intake kit :p, nissan pulsar front brake + RDA slotted, im using low treaded bridgestone that i got free from dan c2888... its 185/60/14.... thx dan... they are still very good compared to the bald one i has previously...

on the first session of the day i was lucky to be able to clocked PB of 1:54.4650... after that, i never get close to 1:54 anymore due to no more tread on the tyres :p(was only 1:55-1:56 with few slower run with passenger)

at first, its abit hard driving the micra, coming from the 350z... i used to have all this torque and any mistake i made wont be significance as i can just plant the accelerator and it will look like nothing has ever happened...

with the micra, i have to try so hard to keep the momentum up. the slightest mistake i made will cost me few sec and i will never see those sec again coz i just dont have the power to make up for it. this reminds me alot how important it is to shift the weight properly and keeping the momentum around the corner... get all the braking done before the corner, and only brake when you really need to, no more messing around, accelerate all the way whenever you had a chance....