Micra will not start :(

CMF_Matttouring

» CMF Member
Hi there a 'newbie' here im new to Micra's so finding this site was great as ive not long bought a little beauty for my Mrs its a '95 1.0L and she loves it only thing is it has a couple of faults first is its always had a problem ideling fom cold just cuts out all the time untill warm then idels fine any ideas what can cause this but main prob now is that she went out yesterday and not got far up the road when she lost all acceleration the engine was still running but she had no power so she turned the engine off then tried to re-start but the car just will not start now it turns over but doesnt seem to fire not sure what to check first as i cant see it being fuel or spark related as the engine was still running just there was no power and also throttle cable still looks intact any ideas would be greatly appreciated

Cheers

Matt

CMF_frank2

» CMF Member
matt

mine will tickover with the fuelpump fuse removed but not rev, i assume it sucks the fuel thro the injectors, so maybe a pump failure ?
there is a idle control valve (black stepper motor at the front of the throttle body, and i think a thermostatic fast idle that works a cam on the throttle quadrant on the n/s rear of the t/b
also a black plastic idle mixture screw (allen key) on the o/s rear of the t/b

frank

CMF_Matttouring

» CMF Member
Is there a way to test the fuel pump as its an expensive bit of kit to replace if thats not the problem
will have a go at the idle if i ever get it running again :(
also i have been reading about the re-soldering of the TB is there a chance that this maybe the problem

Matt

CMF_frank2

» CMF Member
matt

the t/b solder problem usually causes an erratic tickover when warm i think and wont cause a non start
if you carefully remove the fuelpipe on the top of the filter, it should sqirt out and then turn the ignition on,it should gush out (best to run a pipe to a container eh)

frank

CMF_Matttouring

» CMF Member
Frank