Loss of power

Hi

My daughter has a v reg K11. Weve had it in the family since new and has always been well looked after and reliable.

Over the winter I noticed the heating didnt work and after a bit of fettling I changed the thermostat and hey presto it all worked again.

The thermostat must have been stuck.

However since I changed the thermostat the car feels very flat and has lost power, I also noticed the exhaust blowing a bit as well. All I can think of is that the engine was running cold before and probably using too much fuel, now the engine is running at the correct temperature there is something else that isnt working properly. Air mass sensor perhaps?

Thanks for your help in advance, shes decalred that she would rather have a faster car and wear more clothes than as it is at the moment :)

Andrew

It's hard to tell. I'm no expert.

Any other symptoms?

When a MAF is usually at fault you get erratic idle (?) and a lumpy ride.

Did it overheat at all when the old thermostat was stuck closed?

When did it last have a proper service?

It's hard to tell. I'm no expert.

Any other symptoms?

When a MAF is usually at fault you get erratic idle (?) and a lumpy ride.

Did it overheat at all when the old thermostat was stuck closed?

When did it last have a proper service?
Hi

thanks for that. Service is due in 6 months, the car generally does 2-3k between services so not used that much. I did take the temp sensor out when looking to find the fault (yep I was barking up the wrong tree with that one:)) Im wondering if I didnt connect the wiring back in properly, I might double check that.

The ride isnt lumpy but you need to use a more accelerator than before and also change down for hills a lot.

Cheers will let you know

Andrew

what year is the car andrew ? because the coilpack type post 2000 have different symptoms/faults
Hi

it is a 'v' reg late 1999 inspriation.