Headlamps Question from a Novice!

A

Aidan

Hello all, I'm new here - looks like a great resource!
I know nothing about maintenance so forgive me if I get my terms wrong! I've decided to start to learn how to maintain my motor rather than taking it to a garage for every little problem.

I came across the site when looking for a fix to my problem.
The nearside headlamp will not function on main beam - it stays on 'sidelights'.
When I have the headlamps on 'sidelights', a screeching / buzzing noise occurs intermittently (sounds like it is coming from the fuse box under the dash).

My first step will be to try a replacement bulb - but, being a complete novice, I have no idea how to get at the bulbs inside the headlamps - can anyone help? :blush:

Many thanks

Aidan

D4R73N said:
Sounds like a Fuse might have gone, this would be the two (Blue) ten amp's on the left.

Surely both headlights wouldnt work?

To me its either the bulb or the connector on the back of the light is loose, or could require cleaning and the noise i think is coming from the headlight Relay

Have you got yourself a Haynes service and repair manual? they're very useful!

Aidan said:
Hello all, I'm new here - looks like a great resource!
I know nothing about maintenance so forgive me if I get my terms wrong! I've decided to start to learn how to maintain my motor rather than taking it to a garage for every little problem.

I came across the site when looking for a fix to my problem.
The nearside headlamp will not function on main beam - it stays on 'sidelights'.
When I have the headlamps on 'sidelights', a screeching / buzzing noise occurs intermittently (sounds like it is coming from the fuse box under the dash).

My first step will be to try a replacement bulb - but, being a complete novice, I have no idea how to get at the bulbs inside the headlamps - can anyone help? :blush:

Many thanks

Aidan
Hi, welcome to the club!