• Please only use these forums for blogs, they are not a discussion forum

Exhaust shield (aka hot air shroud) bolts

Hi all. I took the leap and finally registered. I think I had to do it with a vpn because I am in Bulgaria. I have a Haynes manual for a right hand driving Micra and my Micra is a European lefty. Also, I have translated the page for the Italian Micra club from time to time for info. As an English speaking expat in Bulgaria, this forum has been really helpful. Also, Sander's company/website is a great resource (https://www.nissan-autoparts.nl/). Sander's site has a schematic for the place where the part goes with a photo of the part. I'd say I'm a beginner and double checking the schematic helps. So, I did an AC delete and sanded, primed and painted the sourced brackets when I moved the ALT. I'm concentrating on fixing up the engine bay. And I want to paint the HOT AIR SHROUD or what I would call the heat shield for the exhaust manifold. QUESTION: Can I spray the bolts with penetraing oil (the brand we know that has the long red straw)? And let it sit over night. I think I will try to bend the straw under the shroud to hit the bolt as much as possible. And spray the head of the bolt from the outside. I realize the bolt is rather flush to the actual shield. I just want to avoid breaking them. Would the manifold smoke for a while afterward? Will it eventually burn off completely and not stink? Also, I'm doing this when it is very cold (high for the day around 4 C). I'm waiting for the dizzy to come back from being rebuilt. 1998 1.0 litre. Thanks - sorry for the long explanation -Troy

I would get them really hot and then try removing them. Or weld a nut onto them and undo it that way.
I wouldnt really be bothered by saving the bolts as they are cheap and still available. (part no is 0112107141)
And yes you can use penetrating oil and it will burn of but if youre painting it i wouldnt spay to much on as it can hinder the paint.