Easy Changes to Performance

Hello forum.

My first post here but Ive been a lurker for a while.

Was wondering (sorry if there's already a guide for this out there but i have yet to find one) whats an easy and cheap-ish way to get a noticable performance increase to a CG10 engine, I've been driving my micra for just over a year now and its a great wee car just getting a little tired of the 15 second 0-60 and not maintain 70mph going up a slight gradient.

Ive read a lot of people chatting about forced induction and installing CG13 cams etc but i doubt that i have the mechanical knowledge to perform such a swap right now.

So far all I've done is install an aftermarket rev counter (would still love a super S / SR instrument panel but i can never find one for sale) and that was fairly easy, however being an electrician I had to wish death upon the nissan engineer who put different colour coded wiring into my car than what is on the wiring diagram.

Oh and my definition of easy is something where there is a well written guide out there somewhere and i don't have to fabricate any of my own parts to do it.

Thanks
CAE

Fit the shortest springs and widest wheels you can, and don't worry about going fast.

or,

Make it light - removing unnecessary things that are already there is much cheaper, and often easier than buying and fitting new things.

Intake and exhaust will give you a few horses :)

A lot of people chuck an Almera airbox with a K&N panel filter in there with decent gains, or you can fit a pod filter.

Exhaust wise a backbox will only make lots of noise really but a decat system will see you really good gains (but obviously you won't be passing MOTs)