annoying belt sound plus some advise needed

tse_adam

Micra Attitude
annoying belt sound plus some advice needed

Hi guys

Everyday when i start up the car, an annoying wet belt sound appears from under the bonnet. It wont be as loud at speed and it eventually disappears after a while. Do you know which belt are we talking about? is it expensive to repair? what will the garage require to carry out to fix this?

I can remember my dad's old Ford Sierra had this problem years ago and it was so loud people used to stare at the car making the passengers very embarassed!

My MOT is due in March but my mileage shows I should have a service, what do you suggest I do? service now and MOT later? both together in march? or minor service now then major service with MOT in march?

service the car now rather than next year. being a student, I could not afford to service the car, however it caught up with me and I have to now change the timing chain.

The car was bought at 7000 miles and had been serviced. I serviced it next at 35000 miles, I know it is very bad. But considering that the car was had no major issues apart from that timing chain. But I hear this is a common error on the micra, I know nissan will blame me for lack of service, but I have read many times, people who have had regular service and at a lower mileage than mine . But their timing chain had been needing attention.

service now if you can

nah i wasnt expecting it to be covered under warranty anyway, is this an expensive job anyway? could an average joe in my local garage do this opposed to the main dealers?

i think its probably best to major service it now and then perhaps a mini one with the MOT next year. I havent checked on the oil for ages and i think it does need some attention.

really? but i dont even trust myself with an electric toothbrush so probably not. lol