A few micra/march related questions

CMF_butters

» CMF Member
hi there from new zealand, im new to this great site!
i have a few questions regarding these little beasts.

at the moment i own an s13 nissan 200sx, which im looking to sell (as a recent rise in petrol prices has made it near impossible to afford the drive to uni and back every day).

i was looking around for something cheap, economical and a little different.
a nissan march would fit the bill nicely i think, but i need to know a few things first:
1- for economy, potential (minor) modifications and reliability, would it be ideal that i look into a march with the cvt gearbox over the manual type?

2- does the 1.3l motor come out with both manual and cvt options in the 2 door model?

3- will 15" rims fit under those little guards without too much hassle? and does the tyre wall rub on the inner guards or shocks when tyres over 195/45/15 are fitted?

4- in regards to lowering, would i have the option of simply installing lowering springs instead of going all out and getting a proper shock/spring combo?

5- would removing the 2 catalytic converters and installing an aftermarket exhaust (e.g 2" - 2.5") make the car very loud, and will it compromise economy very much?

thankyou for your time!

CMF_Sean

» CMF Member
Hi Butters

1. The CVT 'box is very hard to get parts for, however you're from New Zealand so that should lower the costs a fair bit. I'd suggest get the manual as its slightly more economical and powerful.

2. The CVT option was only avaliable on the 5 door SLX, whereas the 2 door models are known as the LX (base model) and Super S (sunroof etc..)

3. 15's will not rub even with 195/50's on if you have the right offset. I had 15's running 195/50 with an offset of +40 before I got my new wheels and they were perfect, they sat 3mm out of the guards and never rubbed.