DIY - Pillar Gauge Pods

CMF_Danvillan

» CMF Member
So I was bored today and I'm waiting for everything to re-open after new year to continue with my turbo conversion. So I decided to have a go at making a pillar gauge pod for the boost and wideband gauges. I have never used fiberglass before so it will be a bit of a learning experience.

So I basically bought a fiberglass kit from bunnings for $40, there were smaller ones which were cheaper and would probably be enough to do this job but I figured if this works out well I may try some other things, so I got a big kit.

A hot glue gun $20. There are cheaper ones, I suppose you could use araldite but hot glue sets quicker. It will be enough to hold it till you fiberglass and then the fiberglass should make it pretty solid.

2 x 50mm PVC joiners which have an ID of about 55mm. I decided to use these instead of the 50mm PVC pipe because it is a bit of a tight squeeze for the gauges as they are 52mm and the ID of the PVC is 51mm. Decided to fiberglass the inside of the PVC joiner to reduce the ID.

If you already had this stuff you could make one pretty cheap.

Down the track I guess I'll need some bog, sandpaper, primer (which I have). Also some type of texture paint to get the factory look back and some vinly/plastic paint to match the original plastic.

Attachments

• 81873.jpg
    81873.jpg
    26.8 KB · Views: 35

CMF_Danvillan

» CMF Member
I forgot the most important thing required for this job. Some old Spongebob pants to wrap around the pillar. I used small dabs of hot glue to hold the stretched cloth.

Spongebob should add at else an extra 10kw's.

Attachments

• 81878.jpg
    81878.jpg
    28.3 KB · Views: 36

CMF_Danvillan

» CMF Member
Resin is applied to the cloth, once dry it gives a base for the fiberglass.

RTK.. The picture probably looks that way but when seated they point directly at you.

Attachments

• 81881.jpg
    81881.jpg
    32.6 KB · Views: 34

CMF_Danvillan

» CMF Member