Why has nobody else done this before?

Antony

Ex. Club Member
Firstly I'm an engineer, and I can't really figure out why this hasn't been done.

Take a look online and there are some poor attempts at this job, but nothing like what I'm thinking of.

Here goes.

Brake fluid cooling radiator or cooling fins for the reservoir.

Think about it.

Usually the first thing to go on a track day is the brakes, I know I've done it.

And what happens? Well heat transfers from the calipers to the hydraulic fluid in the pipes and radiates through back to the fluid reservoir.

When they get too hot, the fluid begins to boil and the water content of the fluid turns into steam, which is compressible...... And you don't want that in the braking system.

Now I know what you're thinking, you're thinking "but brake fluid doesn't flow like coolant or power steering fluid"
And you'd be correct, however, during the pressing of the pedal, movement is created inside the pipes. This is how the calipers actuate.

This movement on a race track would generate enough movement to push the fluid through a coiled pipe or even a small cooler.

But don't forget fluid motion and thermodynamics. Hot fluid will displace cold fluid in the pipes generating a flow all of its own...

I'm still in utter shock nobody has done this before and all they're counting on to keep their brakes cool is a duct and vented discs.

So riddle me this, why?

My thoughts and happy to be corrected (also an engineer since we're pointing this out :p):

Your cooling coil will massively flex under load which will make your pedal feel horrible; Essentially just like brake fade I guess, admittedly you can overcome this by having a larger wall thickness but that means loosing the cooling effect which was the purpose of the coil in the first place.