What does timing chain rattle in the micra actually sound like (Idle).

Quick question really since i'm completely new to cars, what doesthe timing chain rattle sound like (If its a loose tentioner or whatever it is), say if the car is warm and its idling nicely now mine has like a little constant tap although opening the bonnet and standing about the engine at one point, the sound didn't seem like it was coming from the top, but rather the bottom (Although its hard to say because of all the other noises my car has hehe.)

I could upload a video though, my phones recording quality is quite nice.

(Ive checked youtube for timing chain rattle problems and there is one with the micra but the quality isn't good enough, i dont hear the noise when im using the car i believe, just when idle.)

Cheers, Migs.

You'll know if its rattling. :D

The timing chain runs all the way down the side of the engine (drivers side), so if theres a clack clack clack sound then its probably worn.

Hmm thanks Collison, its hard to say really, i dont think its a clank (I'l go out and check in a few minutes) its not too bad but i'm wondering can i stop it in its tracks if you get me :), engine starts to seem a bit rough at the higher end revs also,

Its hard to hear because i think my alternator belts tweet like a bird hehe, if i can i will also get some quick footage, just want to stay on the safe side (First car, i want it to last mate ;) )

Get a video up is the best thing or maybe just a recording...

There is no way of stopping it in its tracks. You can only renew it to stop the sound but to be honest if its not making that bad of a noise at the moment it wont be anything to worry about. (Y)

Hey Collison, so i went and did a 20 mile run (Car always has the noise when it idles perfectly),

Seems your right, its not the timing chain (Infact the engine sounds so good, so quiet when running its unbelievable.)