Water pump fitting, help!

F

flipkickbs

Right, my 998 was running fine until the other day when it started chucking water out and overheating. Came to the conclusion it was the water pump as it was accompanied by a very nasty noise from that general area. I've started dismantling what i need to to get to the pump and change it. I've hit a bit of a problem with taking the offside engine mount off though, i've got the mount itself off, but there is a bracket thats attached to, which is attatched to the engine itself. I cant see how to remove this so i can get the timing belt cover off? There are a couple of bolts on it that i can feel, but they seem impossible to get to. Baring in mind im not that experienced with car mechanics and am mostly going by the haynes manual. If anybody has completed this task before of knows how to do it, a little runthrough of how to domplete the task would be great :)

Car is a 1990 998cc gl

Thanks, Ian

hi mate,

i am in the process of changing the belt in the next couple of days so i can understand what your going through. There are 3 bolts on that bracket so you will need (correct if i am wrong) a 12mm spanner. Use the rounded edge and hold with one hand and feel where it goes with the other. it will fit and you should be able to turn it. The other way is get a 12mm socket put it on the nut first (should be a nice fit) and try to insert the wrench into the squared hole. I know its a right pain but its a first for me also. Once you losen it you should be able to unscrew it by hand. when putting it on just screw by hand and tighten it with a rounded side of a spanner, well its what i would prefer to use. make sure you put a few bricks underneath the engine or a jack, if unsupported it may put strain on the other mounts.

hope it helps.

mani