Universal Split Driveshaft CV Joint Boot Gaiter Kit

• Thread starter Deleted member 29304
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 29304

Hi All,

Has any of you tried one of these split driveshatf CV Joint boot gaiters instead of removing the driveshaft
as these fit into place with you having to remove the driveshaft? I just don't have the torque wrench that goes up to 132 lb's per square inch or the socket for the d/shaft. As it is only £12.00 each i think that a good price!

Yours Peter0003

Dont waste your money load of pants...I am a mechanic by trade trust me it will split in no time at all....use the money towards a new socket to fit....as for a tourque wrench to do a shaft nut up...Never used one in my life and have Rallied Mini's Astra's Seat's all FWD and as long as you do it up really tight it will not fall off !!!...Use a decent Halfinch bar to do it.....try even renting a T wrench form Hss Hire shops if you are worried about it.

Dave

Gluing a split gaiter around a very greasy CV joint is a temporary bodge & a distraction waste of time.

Get a good quality CV boot kit, a 28mm socket (1000cc), a breaker bar & 25mm internal diameter scrapp steel pipe x 700 mm approx length extn lever approx.

Do it right first time, do it once,

Last edited:
You can change the outer CV boot without removing the CV from the upright anyway. Details on the forum somewhere.

Are you on about universal stretch boots? I've one on my passenger side and no problems yet with it. They're hard to put on and you need the special tools and an air compressor

Are you on about universal stretch boots? I've one on my passenger side and no problems yet with it. They're hard to put on and you need the special tools and an air compressor

It's less work to put a proper boot on over a stretch boot given that it is possible to do without removing the outer CV from the hub upright.