turboing a micra?

Ian

Ex. Club Member
not another question, just a quick document i typed up, what you people think? I'm no expert in this field, far FAR from it. But im hoping to clear up newbie's asking the sam stuff over and over.

----------------------------

So you want to turbo your micra?

first of all, im NO expert when it comes to turboing a micra. But i have put a lot of thought into this, but the main thing is i am realistic to the expectations of the process and the outcome.

Right, you've been to the moon and back with basic N/A tuning. You've managed to get 100bhp or more out of your CG13, but you don't have any midrange poke. The only way to get the speed is to pop a cog and gun it. This is where your turbo is going to come in handy. Even for making the same amount of power, your gonna have more torque, but your gonna have drawbacks still.

Where to start?

Well first of all your gonna need cash, cold hard cash. Let's call it £2000 minimum (but your gonna run out) but the more the better and there's no way around this. You should start with a CG13de, not a CG10, the 1.3 is better and its going to produce more power, mod for mod over a 1 litre. Now get a spare engine and gearbox for when yours more then likely, explodes.

Parts you need:

A turbo manifold. NO you CANNOT use your janspeed/manifold/nismo/whatever you already have, a turbo manifold is totally different.

A turbo. Something decent like a T2 or a T25 from an S13 200sx. Try the SXOC for old turbo's being flogged, they can go quite cheap.

Engine management. You NEED this, wether stand alone or piggyback. You can't get away with a GA16 ECU, if it were that easy, everyone would be doing really.

turbo oil feed. You need oil from the engine to the turbo and back. You can get oil to the turbo by using a sandwhich plate from a toyota, simple enough. But to get it back your going to need to drill and tap the block/sump/wherever for connection.