Starter Motor Problem - Solenoid

T

Tesla

On the old forums i made a thread just before it went tits up that was along the lines of the following so apologies if you have previously read the old one or contributed in it which i missed :(

My K10 sometimes has a problem with starting. It makes the sound that would occur if you just held the key on even after the engine had started. The screeching sound.

However, when the sound occurs it occurs straight away. i.e. turn key and then the screech, the engine does not even purr to start.

It doesnt happen all the time. Sometimes if it does happen then it can happen 3-4times in a row!

I have limited knowledge with cars and the K10 is the first one I have ever really looked at. I took the starter motor out and give it a clean over. It seemed in good condition and the flywheel teeth were not worn.

Someone has said to me that the solenoid is probably at fault, this is the bit "stuck" to the side of the starter isnt it?

Can I just replace the solenoid or should I find a whole new/breaker job starter. How much would a starter likely to cost?

Thanks in advance,

Chris

Same ting happens to me the odd time, didnt tink anytin of it coz it still runs perfect.The noise duznt sound healthy at all tho, im curious if any1 has anytin to say myself!

The starter cogs are worn, idealy you need to change the starter motor.

If i dont will it eventually just stop workin and then ill hav to get a new one? Duz it effect any other part r is it just the starter?

does the engine make a clicking noise without even turning over?
something similar is happening to my car at the moment. when i try to start it i turn the key to start and nothing happens bar a clicking noise starts coming from the engine.

RE: RE: Starter Motor Problem - Solenoid

Jonathan said:
something similar is happening to my car at the moment. when i try to start it i turn the key to start and nothing happens bar a clicking noise starts coming from the engine.